Canvas of a Poet
1 min readOct 26, 2021

Shattered Innocence

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I’m in pain,
from the start.
It’s insane,
how souls part.
Countless times explained,
why I would never depart.
But here we are again, further apart.

A call to action,
my call to think, and sanction.
A word of caution,
the world’s evil is split into factions:
Violence, theft, arson, rape, and manipulation.
Blackmail, murder, kidnapping, abuse, blame, and extortion.

Wrath, Greed, Envy, Lust, Sloth, Gluttony, and Pride.
I take the world’s evil and carry it on my shoulders,
I take it with a pinch of salt and a skip to my stride.

An eternity of wrongdoing, not right.
Eternity’s worth of struggle without a worthy guide.

For all sail, the same ocean,
drinking to false notion.
Mind-numbing potions,
to satiate the power-hungry enslavers of our devotion.

How can a man be so blind,
as to backstab his own lifeline?
Does anyone even remember to look at their own timeline?

Canvas of a Poet

Self-expression is important and your writing is really timeless. I personally enjoy creative writing for its artistic release. I’m here to materialize my voice